Top 5 College Football Players Who Lose In NFL Due To Some Reasons

5. Archie Griffin

  Only one player in college football history has won the Heisman Trophy more than once, and that honor belongs to former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin. Griffin rushed for more than 1,300 yards in each of his last three seasons in Columbus, Ohio, becoming the first player to lead the Big Ten in rushing in three consecutive seasons. He rushed for over 100 yards 34 times in his career and was selected in the first round of the 1976 NFL Draft by the Cincinnati Bengals. He played seven seasons in the National Football League, but failed to make the kind of impact expected of a two-time winner of college football’s most prestigious award. After passing for just over 2,800 yards with the Bengals, Griffin retired in the USFL. Additionally, Archie Griffin is now the spokesperson for the high school student athlete awards program, Wendy’s High School Heisman.

4. Jason White

  When Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Jason White decided to stay in school after winning the Heisman Trophy in 2003, he seemed likely to join Griffin as a two-time winner of the award. It wasn’t to be, however, as White had to settle for being the third quarterback to repeat as a Davey O’Brien Award recipient. He also won the 2004 Maxwell Award and the Johnny Unitas Award and finished his career as Oklahoma State’s all-time leader in passing yards and touchdowns. However, White ended his career with serious knee problems, having reconstructive surgeries on each knee during his time with the Sooners. As a result, he received little attention from the NFL, spending part of the 2005 season with the Tennessee Titans before leaving the game due to injuries.

  3. Andre Ware

  In 1989, Houston’s Andre Ware became the first African-American player in NCAA history to win the Heisman Trophy, throwing for more than 4,600 yards and setting more than two dozen NCAA records in the process. Drafted by the Detroit Lions in the first round of the 1990 Draft, Ware would play in just 14 games over four seasons for the Lions, throwing for just over 1,100 yards and throwing more career interceptions (8) than touchdowns (5). After leaving Detroit and spending a cup of coffee with the Raiders, Ware left for the CFL, where he would play for four teams in four years and never again make a big impact. Ware has since returned to his native element and currently works as a college football analyst for ESPN.

  2. Gary Beban

  In 1967, Gary Beban became the first (and so far only) UCLA Bruin to win the Heisman Trophy. The quarterback was a three-time All Pac-10 Conference selection during his career, set a school record that would last 15 years, and was eventually inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Beban was drafted by the Washington Redskins in the second round of the 1968 draft, but NFL success eluded Beban, who played quarterback in five games and caught just one pass during his two-year pro career. In 1970, Beban retired from football and began a career in business, cementing his status as another college football legend who became an NFL legend.

  1. Terry Baker

  Former Oregon State quarterback Terry Baker, widely regarded as the first Heisman Trophy winner to become an NFL bust, tops the list of Top 5 College Football Players Who Failed in the NFL. As a senior, Baker threw for nearly 3,500 yards. He also rushed for over 1,500 yards and scored 38 touchdowns passing and rushing. Baker was named the 1962 Liberty Bowl MVP and would go on to win the Heisman and Maxwell awards that season. He was selected first overall by the Los Angeles Rams in the 1963 NFL Draft. He played there for just three seasons, but had little success due to Rams coach Harland Swaren’s inability to fully utilize Baker as a dual threat. Regardless of the reason, Baker would start just one game in the NFL rushing for over 200 career yards, throwing 0 touchdowns and 4 interceptions. The bottom line is that Baker was unable to replicate his NCAA success at the next level, setting the stage for many Heisman busts to come.

Leave a Comment